Home > Around Greater Long Beach, Lakewood > CHECK OUT THIS LAKEWOOD COUPLE’S LITTLE BIT OF MID-CENTURY HEAVEN…

CHECK OUT THIS LAKEWOOD COUPLE’S LITTLE BIT OF MID-CENTURY HEAVEN…

"THERE, BUT FOR A SENSE OF STYLE, GO I"

A Lakewood couple’s imaginative and oh-so-cool remodel of their small mid-century home is currently featured on the home design website, Apartment Therapy, as well as making me feel … ohhh, sorta lame.

My home is a stucco box of about the same size and vintage as the one that Kristen James and Mike Dunn moved into a little more than four years ago. But next month will make 28 years since I moved into my place, and it doesn’t have anything close to the gracefully aging relevance that Kristen and Mike have imbued into their little remnant of the Eisenhower Era–right down to a backyard that saves them weekend drives to Palm Springs.

Of course, Kristen James is an architect/designer and Mike Dunn is a Director of Photography, whereas I’m a former sportswriter, so there’s there’s that. And then you factor in their dachshunds, which they call Conan and Gaudi, whereas I have a cat named Ebby and also leave food for an aging stray I call Thuggy. I guess it makes sense.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

