Home > The Boulevardier > WHY IS ONE LITTLE SHOP OWNER BEING MOURNED SO DEEPLY? ONE WOMAN EXPLAINS WHAT SHE LOST WHEN PETE TOULIOS DIED

WHY IS ONE LITTLE SHOP OWNER BEING MOURNED SO DEEPLY? ONE WOMAN EXPLAINS WHAT SHE LOST WHEN PETE TOULIOS DIED

PETE TOULIOS

[Pete Toulios, owner of Lil’ Devils boutique on 4th Street, passed away May 17 of still-undetermined causes. A reader of Redistricted! shares the light she lost when Pete passed away. For more remembrances, click here.]

BY ELIZABETH BRIGNONI

I met Pete Toulios at UC-Riverside, where we worked on a project for the “Healthy Families” study. Pete was one of the students who helped run that study. We got to know each other well. He was always there when I needed him and always there with something to say that would make you laugh.

My daughter, Ashley, used to say he looked like the singer in Sugar Ray. When I didn’t have a sitter I’d take my kids, Ashley and Ryan, with me, and he’s spend time with them. He’d go down in the elevator and shake it. Ashley got scared but she loved it and talked of it for years afterward. I told him I loved baklava and he brought me some. How wonderful that was of him. He cracked me up with his impressions of his mom having hot flashes.

When the project was over I moved away but I never lost touch with Pete. We would e-mail back and forth—not too many times, as he was a busy person, always doing something—but when he could he’d drop me a line and let me know how he was doing. Everywhere I moved we’d keep in touch—and believe me, I moved around!

We found each other again on Facebook. We were so happy to be in touch with him on a regular basis again. Reaching his posts and looking at his pix, I felt he took me with him on his long trip to see friends and family. I was so happy that he was able to do this and thy wer able to spend that time togeter before the Lord called him.

I won’t be able to go onto Facebook again and not think of him and wish he were posting something funny, or just type to him and say hello.

I pray he is at peace and pray for his friends and family, that they get through this very hard time ahead. I know life for those of you who saw him on a daily basis or saw him in person will not be the same. I pray for all of us to give us strength and continue on as we have to, but will never forget him. He was truly loved by many.

  1. May 24, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    About this time a week ago, I was looking forward to hearing back from this great man. We were setting up his first Ad for Little Devils and were REALLY excited. Pete gave so much to our family and we looked forward to having just the smallest chance to do something nice for him… It still is very unreal that he won’t be down there. When we need a quick lift from his huge hugs and even bigger laugh… Thank you for posting this.

  2. nicole lena
    May 26, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    pete was such a sweet and loving soul and thats clear by how many lives he touched. there are so many people that will truly miss him and i am one of them. i worked a couple stores down from his and whenever i needed a lil break i could pop in lil devils and get one of his notorious hugs and his big smile would always make the day a lil better. we would gossip and just chat about whatever came up…he was someone i looked forward to seeing on the street. my little brother also became friends with him and we would all hang out after store hours and listen to music or whatever the day brought us. i am going to miss those sessions. i know he is at peace now that we have finally layed him to rest today so now the next step is to celebrate his life at his benefit on june 3rd at alex’s bar in long beach. i think this will be a great way to tell stories and memories of this fun, crazy character we all knew and loved while at the same time raising money for his family. i am grateful to call him my friend and i feel blessed to have had the time to get to know him. RIP PETE…LOVE YOU!!!

  3. Joe Mack
    May 28, 2010 at 6:38 am

    When I didn’t have a sitter I’d take my kids, Ashley and Ryan, with me, and he’s spend time with them. He’d go down in the elevator and shake it. Ashley got scared but she loved it and talked of it for years afterward.

    WHEN I WAS A YOUNG CHILD, (NOT TO MENTION, NOW!) AND SOME MAN SHOOK THE ELEVATOR AS IT WAS HURLING DOWN INTO THE ABYSS, I’D BE SCARED FOR LIFE! PERHAPS THAT IS WHAT YOUR HAPLESS CHILD IS TRYING TO TELL YOU AS SHE RECOUNTS THE
    horrifying-INCIDENT MANY YEARS LATER…

    http://www.longbeachpolitics.homestead.com

    • lbcitygirl
      May 28, 2010 at 9:23 am

      I don’t like you Joe Mack.

      Especially here. This is the wrong place to promote your personal website. Have some respect.

  1. June 22, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

