Home > News and Politics > ALL WRITEY!!! A SAMPLING OF YOUR COMMENTS / CRITICISMS / LOVE NOTES / WITTICISMS

ALL WRITEY!!! A SAMPLING OF YOUR COMMENTS / CRITICISMS / LOVE NOTES / WITTICISMS

It all makes me thankful I entered this life with male genitalia. / HAIRLESS

I love this. A woman’s hair is such an important symbol of identity—and here you have chosen to remove yours! How bold. Today by chance I, too, went “natural,” forgoing my usual 45-minute blow dry/straightening/product combination to combat my frizz and embracing the curls that start off nice at 8 a.m. but by 2 p.m. I am looking like Gilda Radner, circa 1979. Still, there was something marvelous about that wild mane of hair; it did, in fact, remind me of my youth and getting back to my roots. Thanks for this! / LB CITY GIRL

MAY 18, ELLEN GRILEY’S “IN REMEMBRANCE OF PETE TOULIOS, OWNER OF LIL’ DEVILS CHILDRENS BOUTIQUE, WHO MADE 4TH STREET MORE THAN SHOPPING”

Thanks, Ellen, you are exactly right. I am saddest for all the times we had yet to spend together. Pete’s warm smile will forever light up the hearts of those who were lucky enough to know him. He was a dear friend and will be greatly missed. / SÉ

My daughter introduced me to Pete and John way back in the beginning of high school and from then on those two brothers became part of our family. I keep thinking of all the little and big things that Pete was a part of in our lives. Like when our beloved dog, Bubba, passed away, Pete was right there comforting Sarah. Christmas day will never be the same, as John and Pete always took the time to stop by for their holiday visit. I can only imagine what Pete’s family is going through; to lose a child is not the way things should go. I only hope that there really is a place like heaven, and that, Pete, you are up there smoking too much. / CHERYL

Well said, Ellen. / DAVE GOOCH

MAY 17, DAVE WIELENGA’S “O’DONNELL CHARACTERIZES LAND-SWAP DEAL FOR LOS CERRITOS WETLANDS AS A QUESTION OF LOVE-’EM-OR-LEAVE-’EM”

Something really stinks in Long Beach. The wetlands swap deal has stunk from the beginning and still has a rancid limburger cheese smell to it. Now the old “love it or leave it” ploy is being trotted out in an attempt to finalize the deal. What is next, accusing of opponents of the wetlands swap deal of being communists? Who keeps “cutting the cheese” at City Hall? The stench is unbearable. / DWIGHT K. SNIDER

What a phony O’Donnell is. How ridiculous to follow through with this. Thank goodness it will be tied up in court for longer than I will be alive. / IN THE HOLE

Hey Patrick, it’s easy to gamble when you’re using taxpayer money and assets. All you have to do is ask yourself, “Would I do this deal if it was my money?” And Pat, if your answer is still yes, regretfully you’ve got to be stupid or in bed with Mr. DeLong and his developer pals. Time will tell, and being a gambling man myself, my money tells me that now that you and DeLong are termed out, unless you can count five reasonable and honest council persons with guts to tell the DeLong gang, “no,” the wetlands are going to cost our city dearly and make a few “smart guys” richer! / LB MIKE

Categories: News and Politics
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

